News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

External Examination

Started by Mercudenton, February 26, 2021, 08:06:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mercudenton

I've been teaching in the US for 10 years now, after having worked and attended college in the UK. I'm still surprised at how little externality there is to the US higher education system. In the UK, there is a system of external examiners who both approve assignments/exams and review grading. While it is an imperfect system, it brings a measure of quality control both to the individual professors and to the overall quality of the degree. It also (and this is what I miss about it) removes the sense that the faculty member is entirely responsible for a students' grade (scholarship, emotional health, life chances) by allowing faculty to appeal to the externally-established standards.

Similarly quality assurance in the UK brings in external validation of overall academic standards, whereas HLC assessment in the US seems to involve me running an assessment project on my own grading and then someone assessing how well I've assessed my assessing - a situation I have yet to view as anything other than Alice Through the Looking Glass.

I'm curious as to any other people's experience with external examination (which I know exists beyond the UK), and whether there are any models in the US system of colleges experimenting with this model. I'm collecting examples for a small grant project I'm going to work on with some institutional money this summer, so all insights welcome.

spork

We don't use external examination in higher ed in the USA because we're 'Muricans, dammit. Everyone should regard us as the shining City on a Hill that we are, and gratefully accept the blessings of civilization that we deign to bestow on the less fortunate. This includes sham processes like assessment that allow people to avoid being held accountable. Freedom!