News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Your Home Office

Started by Morris Zapp, August 07, 2019, 10:10:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Morris Zapp

We are recent empty nesters and are moving some things around in our house.  I'm excited to finally have the space for an actual office -- rather than just a corner of the dining room table.
For those of you who have offices at home, can you describe your office including what kind of desk you have, bookshelves, etc.
Links to relevant websites where they sell furniture are much appreciated!
(I'm feeling really overwhelmed by the freedom to define my space and am also considering just buying a very plain dining room table for the space rather than an actual desk.  I'm a messy writer who works on lots of projects at once and I think a table might be better for my piles of paper.)
Also, I'm old school and still use a desk top all in one computer vs. a laptop.
How do you all set up and define your workspaces at home?

craftyprof

I'm trying to use less paper and I use a laptop at home, so maybe not what you are looking for...

But I bought a big IKEA Linnmon table top + legs and set it in front of a wall of Billy bookcases.  I like my piles as well, so there's plenty of surface area for current projects but I didn't bother with any filing cabinets or long term paper storage.

Adding doors to some of the bookcases and a fun rug (rugsusa has some good deals) made it feel a little less like dorm room furniture.

Vkw10

I use an L-shaped electric adjustable height desk. I bought it from www.upliftdesk.com where you can customize. I opted for power outlets in top, for desk lamp and computer.

I'm using wall-mounted adjustable shelving. It lets me store more books per foot than the typical bookcase, because I mounted shelves as high as I can reach. One section has several desk trays, one per project, since I like my working papers handy.