News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

chronic illness/pain and productivity

Started by Brego, September 30, 2019, 06:05:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brego

Used to be on the fora a long time ago while I was a contingent lecturer.  4/4 load that became a 5/5 at $32,000 a year.  Published my way out of a deeply dysfunctional department. 

Got a tenure-track job and a nationally prestigious long-term fellowship within 24 hours of one another on the same day that dysfunctional department told me I was being replaced by a t-t line.  The decision to let me go to fellowship infuriated the man who is now going to be the head of my tenure committee.  I took the fellowship, made up for lost time as much as I could.  "This is not just about writing," one of my mentors told me.  "This is also about recuperation." 

I finished the fellowship, began at my department, was told in my first peer eval that I was a "superb teacher" and all that.  End of Year 2 I win three nationally prestigious fellowships.  My chair arranged for me to take two.  Was on leave for nearly 18 months.  Got rent paid for by my university in a very expensive city.  I felt really good.