News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Comments, posts on other forums

Started by Myword, June 29, 2020, 07:15:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Myword

Do you ever post a question or make comments on internet forums related to your field?
Not much in physical sciences.
Many general forums have a section for different subjects from a to z. Non academic amateurs post there. From my experience, they are not academic or know about academic research or ideas. They will try to rebut or question issues about your field that are obviously true. Some are smart, some naive and unsophisticated. Is this a waste of time?  Of course, they don't know I am a professional.

mamselle

If such a thing existed in any of the fields I work with (only really in a couple of situations), I might post a single corrective entry to something egregious (like the ballet forums that do a nice number in anorexia/bulemia denial by inventing the most amazing circumlocutions, for example) but I wouldn't be drawn in.

If factual input doesn't sink in on a first reading, it's not likely to do so after several iterations of the same thing.

And face it, many people are more wedded to being argumentative than to learning anything.

Not that we see anything like that on this forum, of course...

M.
Forsake the foolish, and live; and go in the way of understanding.

Reprove not a scorner, lest they hate thee: rebuke the wise, and they will love thee.

Give instruction to the wise, and they will be yet wiser: teach the just, and they will increase in learning.

Parasaurolophus

There used to be such a forum for undergrads in my field. It's now defunct, however.

If I knew of one, I would. But I don't, so I don't. And I'm definitely not going to post in Reddit threads. I hate the interface.
I know it's a genus.

downer

Reddit is the worst.

I haven't seen any internet forums for any academic areas.