News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Student groups by academic ability

Started by Mercudenton, August 14, 2019, 06:27:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mercudenton

I teach large 60+ survey classes. Student ability is very wide. I wondered this year about creating online and in-class discussion groups based on academic ability. I can see strong students stuck with weak ones when we do group discussions. As a strong student, I'd have hated that. I'd love the strong, engaged students to be able to talk together. I know there's a counter-argument that the strong students might pull the weak students up, but I wonder if this is idealistic.

So first question: anyone ever tried this?

Second question: how to achieve it? I asked registrar if I could have access to GPAs. Response was no (a) this would be FERPA violation and (b) it would not be appropriate to group students by GPA.

As for (a) I can see the issue, though I wonder if it could be classed under the FERPA "legitimate educational interest". I kind of feel professors should be able to have access to their students academic background; denying it is like denying a doctor access to patients' medical records -- it might be detrimental to the treatment. But I know FERPA is FERPA and must be obeyed.

As for (b) I tend to disagree. While I can see there is a pedagogical argument for and against, surely there might be merit in grouping students this way? We do actually have an honors and a remedial version of this class, so the institution has already kind of admitted that students might benefit from cohorts united by academic ability (and GPAs would be one of the key determining features here). Why not groups within a cohort based on similar principles (indeed, I don't really need to see the precise GPA, just a rough grouping of students).

Any alternative ideas? A pre-test? Voluntary disclosure of GPA? Or scrap the whole idea?!

Hegemony