My work got either scooped or plagiarized-- what, if anything, to do?

Started by JFlanders, July 01, 2019, 02:58:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JFlanders

I'm an assistant professor in the humanities-- graduated a few years back, got a TT job, and since then have been working to revise portions of my dissertation in article format.  I'm also juggling other research projects and a heavy teaching load, so it's taken me a few years to get back to some portions of the diss.

Today, in working on a revise-and-resubmit of one of my diss-based articles ("A"), I found that another article ("B") had been published a few months ago, on the same general topic.    Looking over the article, it uses all the same major sources and presents a thesis which is identical to a portion of my central argument in "A".   

"B" is apparently also a revised dissertation chapter; its author graduated much more recently than I did, and my dissertation would have been filed and readily available for public consultation, first in random circulating drafts/conference abstracts, then in the university library and subsequently in our online archive, during the time that "B" was being written. 

I don't want to be uncharitable and assume plagiarism; it's possible that the ideas were "in the air" and we're having a kind of Darwin/Wallace moment here.  If there's a question of priority, I'm clearly on the record as having been first to write up these ideas, at least in dissertation form.  Since both I and the author of "B" are apparently actively trying to publish similar material, though, I'd love some advice on the following questions:

• -- Does the fact that "B"-author published their article first mean that I must now cite "B" in my draft of "A"?  If so, is also citing my (clearly earlier-dated, copyrighted, formally filed) dissertation sufficient to clarify that these ideas are, indeed, original and mine?  Would any of this have possible impact on the publishability of "A" for the journal?