News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Book chapter - in need of a bit of guidance

Started by adel9216, September 22, 2019, 01:57:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adel9216

Hello everyone,

I don't know if anyone will be able to help me.

in March, I submitted a 500-word proposal for a book chapter. The book is directed by two recognized scholars, and is very much related to my current area of research and expertise. It is not related to my PhD program. (I honestly did not believe I would get selected when I submitted my proposal.) But guess what, I did get selected. I have to write 3000-6000 words essay for December 1st (first draft). I have never done this before and am not sure in what angle I should tackle this. Plus, it will be in English (which is not my mothertongue). I am going to use Grammarly for sure. But does anyone have some resources, articles or videos that could help me to produce this book chapter? The format is an essay. I have some ideas of topics I'd like to cover...but am unsure where to begin and how to start. I am feeling sightly nervous because I honestly did not believe that my proposal would get picked. I have written book chapters before, but they were not "academic" book chapters, they were geared towards the general public.

For info: I am a social science PhD student.

Ruralguy

Maybe this is obvious...but start with the proposal.

Expand on each of the points and see where you end up.

polly_mer

What has your advisor suggested?

Are you doing original research or reporting on original research that you've already done?  It will be very tight to get new research done with your new position.
Quote from: hmaria1609 on June 27, 2019, 07:07:43 PM
Do whatever you want--I'm just the background dancer in your show!

adel9216

I did not tell my advisor about this, since this is something that I submitted way wayyyy before I started my PhD and that it is not related to my program of study.