Not being quick enough to publish articles and papers

Started by adel9216, October 03, 2019, 10:51:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adel9216

Hello,

I'm a new PhD student. I always have ideas for papers and articles related to my topic of research (conceptual articles, reflection articles or more like "taking a stance" articles), but the thing that happens is that I often end up finding out that other people have just published stuff (in 2018 or 2019) that are very similar to the ideas I came up with, even if I have never shared them publicly. So I end up asking myself if it is worth it for me to start publishing based off my ideas, if other people are working at the exact same thing or have just published the exact same thing... and as a new PhD student, I don't have a concrete writing routine yet, so I often have the ideas, but am not quick enough to put them out there at this point.

How have you dealt with that as a professors and scholars? I'm in the social sciences by the way.

Thanks!

Hibush

It sounds like you need a blog to test both your writing and your ideas. If you can become a contributor to an existing blog in the field, such as https://www.socialsciencespace.com/, you may get what you are looking for.

In my field, reflective essays by new grad students do not have a spot in the research literature, so that may not be a promising venue for you.

Puget

Quote from: Hibush on October 03, 2019, 11:21:16 AM
In my field, reflective essays by new grad students do not have a spot in the research literature, so that may not be a promising venue for you.

This. I think you asked something similar about giving a theory/methods talk at a conference and my answer here is the same-- senior people got to write perspectives/theory papers (after a lifetime of empirical publications), all others must bring data. (As I recall you're in social work or something similar where data is a thing, correct? Or am I miss remembering?)