News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Acknowledgements?

Started by Seeker123, August 15, 2019, 07:32:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Seeker123

Hello all, after a decade of writing my book I am now working on the acknowledgments. Does anyone have any suggestions or ideas? Should I acknowledge my mentor who really had no impact or role in the book, but does help me navigate the politics of the university?

Parasaurolophus

My vote's for 'no', since they didn't have a direct impact on the book.

I don't see any harm in including them, however.
I know it's a genus.

hungry_ghost

Quote from: Seeker123 on August 15, 2019, 07:32:18 PM
Should I acknowledge my mentor who really had no impact or role in the book, but does help me navigate the politics of the university?

My doctoral supervisor was not helpful after I graduated, and never read a page of my book until after it was published. However, without her guidance in graduate school, I would not have had the training to write the book. So that is basically what I said in the acknowledgments to my first book.

I think you're talking about your mentor at your university, not a grad school adviser-type mentor. Are you grateful to her / him for giving you support during the time you were writing it? If so, then could you just say that? Finishing a book is a big project and we receive all kinds of support in order to do it.

Other people would probably suggest that you consider whether mentioning her would be politically expedient, but I'm not so sure about that.

Just thoughts ...

dr_codex

You're overthinking this.

The only things you have to acknowledge are granting/funding agencies, and venues that have published portions earlier. Other than that, this is your baby.