News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

A Year Without New Grad Students: CHE article

Started by polly_mer, September 20, 2019, 09:16:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

polly_mer

https://www.chronicle.com/article/Amid-Rumors-of-Shift-to/247199

The University at Buffalo is barring most departments in its College of Arts and Sciences from recruiting funded Ph.D. students next year, unless they qualify for certain scholarships.
Quote from: hmaria1609 on June 27, 2019, 07:07:43 PM
Do whatever you want--I'm just the background dancer in your show!

kaysixteen

Well, ah, good old UB.  I did my PhD in classics there finishing 20 years ago.  I was unfunded.  The dept did have some funding lines, but university policy forbade more than a max of 4 funded years, and many funded students didn't get to keep theirs for the whole 4.  One can not help guessing that graduate student attrition was high, with a vast number of ABDs falling into a black hole.  And of course eben then, certainly now, most newly minted classics PhDs are also unlikely to get a tt job.  So I get the complaints some of the current grad students are lodging wrt this extreme policy change, but I am ambivalent nonetheless, and this very action on the uni's part also makes one call into question the overall funding and prospects of the school as well.

Wahoo Redux

SUNY Buffalo's grad rankings are solid if not exceptional, so it can't be program quality. 

This is probably a harbinger of things to come.  Programs will be trimmed from the academic tree, and maybe it is time.
Come, fill the Cup, and in the fire of Spring
Your Winter-garment of Repentance fling:
The Bird of Time has but a little way
To flutter--and the Bird is on the Wing.

Parasaurolophus

A pause in admissions to fund an increase to current stipends seems fine to me.

But they shouldn't be accepting unfunded students period.
I know it's a genus.

writingprof

Quote from: Parasaurolophus on September 21, 2019, 08:58:52 AM