News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

The future of the monograph: status report

Started by Hibush, October 02, 2019, 02:05:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hibush

IHE reports on a study on the scholarly use of monographs by scholars in the humanities and social sciences. The study was done by two outfits with an intense interest in how these are used, and are likely to be used in the near future, namely Oxford University Press and Cambridge University Press.

Publishing has changed radically in the online age, and some fields have responded and even driven that change. There are huge differences among scholarly fields. I am not in a book field, though it was over a century ago. Darwin wrote several influential ones. The journal article was king when I was a grad student. Today,  I even see lots of online alternatives to journals (e.g. arxiv.org, Springer's Experimental Results). The way different fields accommodate these changes is interesting.

The survey shows that the monograph is the primary vehicle only in religion, philosophy, history and (as one would hope) literature. Even in those fields, journal articles are used as nearly as often by scholars. There trend away from the monograph is strong in the social sciences.

One concern I have is that the monograph will stop being the medium for advancing thought in a field, and instead be simply a credential in which the press provides independent validation for the purposes of hiring, promotion and tenure. I hear people speaking about them that way, which makes writing one seem like an empty excercise.

Nevertheless, Figure 17 in the report shows that 92% of respondents are very or extremely likely to use a monograph when synthesizing or analyzing the literature in a field.