News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Buying a house

Started by Puget, June 10, 2019, 02:48:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Puget

So, I've just put in a first offer on a first house. Since this is a frequent feature in the lives of junior faculty, I thought I'd start a thread to collect collective advice and hard-won wisdom, and hopefully I'll be able to contribute some of my own when this is all over.

I've been renting here for three years, and while buying is expensive renting is crazy expensive (more than a mortgage payment) and house prices kept going up and threatening to price me out, so it's time. 

It's going to be a multiple offer situation in a hot market so I'm trying hard not to get attached. . . at least things happen quickly, it's not like waiting to hear back about faculty jobs!

For those who are old hands at this, what did you wish you'd known before buying your first house?

"Never get separated from your lunch. Never get separated from your friends. Never climb up anything you can't climb down."
–Best Colorado Peak Hikes

backatit

I wish I'd known that even getting the offer accepted is only the first step. The inspection is more fraught yet. And disappointing, always. Your "perfect" house suddenly develops a million flaws in the eyes of the inspector, and you want to protect it! Resist, and see it for what it truly is, and be willing to let it go (with gratefulness that you wrote an inspection clause into the contract) if necessary. If it comes back acceptable, then rejoice! But also understand that the second you sign the papers, a door will fall off. Welcome that, as it's the new house's way of welcoming you into the fold.

Sorry, I know you wanted some serious advice, but I've owned a lot of houses, and it's a really up and down process, so you might as well laugh about it. And hopefully get some champagne ready - fingers crossed for you!

Puget

Quote from: backatit on June 10, 2019, 03:54:22 PM