Advice needed for junior faculty member on TT at R1

Started by tenuretrack_socsci, December 14, 2019, 03:59:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tenuretrack_socsci

Hi All,

I am hoping that some of you have experience with the following scenario and can give advice:

I am in my 2nd year on the tenure track at a non Ivy, but still wealthy'ish R1 university. My contract includes a semester of pre-tenure leave that is fully paid. I was recently approved to take that leave next academic year (2020-2021) in the spring semester. Then, I learned that I won a fairly prominent external award/fellowship that more than covers a full year of my salary. However, fellowship is set up to send the $$$ directly to my own institution.

How would you negotiate this? My department chair and senior colleagues are all supportive (both of me leaving for the year on the external fellowship but ALSO preserving my pre-tenure leave benefit in some way, shape or form). What would that look like? Could I ask to defer the semester to combine it with post-tenure sabbatical? Or, can I just insist on taking everything all at once (basically leaving me with compensation of 1.5x the usual amount).

Other factors if it matters. It's a private R1 and the fellowship is external and residential (i.e., I won't be sucking off any overhead at current place since I'll be housed elsewhere).

apostrophe

Never turn down paid leave!

I recommend that you take the year-long leave now to finish the book (or equivalent) with the clear expectation that you will take your pre-tenure leave when the R1 gods intended it--before tenure. You can always use another semester down the line to get articles out the door. I doubt that you can insist on the timeline, however, so sit down with your chair to make a plan about when you'll take that paid leave so that there are no surprises.

Congratulations and good luck.

Hibush