News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Time for Citations to Move into the Cyber Age

Started by Wahoo Redux, May 17, 2019, 03:19:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wahoo Redux

So, here I am, changing double quotes to single quotes, removing parenthesis, eliminating "accessed on" dates, putting the city before the publisher (wondering if the world really would be confused about Yale UP if "New Haven" did not have the "CT" next to it), and so on and so forth...trying to get this ready for publication so some resentful graduate student doesn't have to do the light-lifting for me...and thinking "Grrrrrrrrrr" the whole time.

The rational since I was an undergrad was that a full citation means scholars can vet and locate your sources quickly, easily, and thoroughly, and that's why all these bells and whistles are so necessary...

But the differences between MLA, APA, and Chicago are so mind-numbingly minute that they are essentially pointless...

And really this kind of citation is antiquated in the cyber age anyway!!  Truly, all one needs is an author and a title and Google. That is all one needs.  A publisher, perhaps, but not really.  The bells and whistles simply aren't necessary anymore.

It's time for academic citation practices to move into the 21st Century.  Ring the church bells!  Change sweeps the landscape!!
Come, fill the Cup, and in the fire of Spring
Your Winter-garment of Repentance fling:
The Bird of Time has but a little way
To flutter--and the Bird is on the Wing.

Trogdor

Do you not use a citation management program like Zotero or Endnote?

eigen

It's interesting you bring this up. I'm not familiar with any of those citation styles, but my discipline is constantly updating reference styles to be more streamlined, and referencing by DOI is becoming more and more common, especially as journals are increasingly only digital distribution.
Quote from: Caracal