News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Fashion Advice

Started by Charlotte, January 08, 2021, 12:37:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charlotte

I couldn't decide if this topic belongs in another area or not. My apologies if this is the wrong section!

I was hoping to get a discussion going on fashion. As a new professor, I'm still learning how to best present myself both in class and in faculty meetings, conferences, etc. I am not particularly knowledgeable about fashion or skilled with makeup. I also have not found a way to ask other professional women how to dress and how/if I should wear makeup without sounding... odd?

I have planned a portion of my next paycheck for some much needed professional clothes but I'm not certain what to purchase. Would anyone be willing to share ideas on clothing that they find is most appropriate for a professor to wear? What are your basic foundational pieces that you most frequently wear?

Do any of you not wear makeup? Have you found it to have any effect on your career/perception of you?

I do believe that I missed some important socialization on clothes and makeup. Would appreciate suggestions on how to catch up!

ciao_yall

Are you on Facebook?

There is a brand of professional women's clothing called Madame LaFleur that has quite a following. You can check out the group where we post product reviews, etc. https://www.facebook.com/groups/376188836108962 Generally well-made and flattering, though can be hit-or-miss from time to time.

I keep my makeup simple. Depending on your local COVID-19 drill, you might consider putting yourself in the hands of a makeup artist at one of the more natural looking department store lines such as Clinique or Bobby Brown. Let them know you want to keep it simple and let them recommend some basic color cosmetics for you.

Liquidambar

Quote from: Charlotte on January 08, 2021, 12:37:32 PM