News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Interacting with university presses?

Started by frenchonionsoup, December 09, 2023, 07:07:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

frenchonionsoup

Hello Everyone,

This is my first post. Currently, I'm a tenure track professor who has published works in non-university presses. I am familiar with the processes of submitting a proposal to non-university presses in that an attachment with your bona fides is sent per the instructions of the publisher, with the structure of the proposal being quite coherent across different publishing houses. However, when I visit some university presses' websites, there are calls for proposals with certain themes in which they are interested. My questions are thus:

Am I to understand that one should reach out to the acquisitions editor, presumably with a non-completed proposal, so as to integrate/synchronize one's ideas into their interests for the particular theme? And if this is so, is this how submitting to university presses work; that is, one communicates with the acquisitions editor every step of the way before submitting the proposal (thus maximizing one's chances for a contract), meaning you end up tweaking your writing to more of what they prefer rather than exhibiting your own center of gravity that has resulted in, say, an already completed work for which one desires a contract?

In other words, does one "negotiate" the content of a work into the press by maintaining a line of communication with its acquisitions editor before submitting the proposal?

Thank you for any insights coming this way.

Sincerely,

French Onion Soup

jerseyjay

I think it could be done different ways.