Flexible hiring freeze due to the Coronavirus pandemic

Started by the-tenure-track-prof, March 31, 2020, 12:33:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

the-tenure-track-prof

I am a tenure track assistant professor at a public university. Today our university made few announcements about the ongoing response of the university to the public health crisis. One measure that the administration announced is flexible hiring freeze which was explained as "the university will continue to hire but need to carefully review all vacancies and suspend when possible."

As a tenure track faculty I`ve received a while ago my reappointment letter for next year and have my classes scheduled for the fall semester. My department also needs more faculty, not less to manage the big class size that we have. Anyone with more experience than I am knows what flexible hiring freeze practically means?

Thanks,

sprout

I would expect that it applies to new staff hires and new tenure lines, not to reappointment of existing tenure-track faculty.

polly_mer

Quote from: sprout on March 31, 2020, 12:57:48 PM
I would expect that it applies to new staff hires and new tenure lines, not to reappointment of existing tenure-track faculty.
Agreed.

My bet is that the administrators want the flexibility to postpone/cancel certain job ads while still hiring in places that are hard to get faculty if someone great is in the pool. 

Yes, it's nice to have smaller class sizes in some areas, but it's vital to keep certain programs in compliance with accreditation.  It's also vital to be able to offer certain classes to keep up enrollment, like CS and nursing where the number of open slots nationwide is often larger than the number of qualified people seeking academic positions.
Quote from: hmaria1609 on June 27, 2019, 07:07:43 PM
Do whatever you want--I'm just the background dancer in your show!

the-tenure-track-prof