Doldrums of associate professorhood, how do I get out of the funk?

Started by AJ_Katz, August 26, 2020, 05:24:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AJ_Katz

Hey all, I received P&T last year. Overall, I really enjoy what I do for a living, am excited about some of our new grants, and would consider myself a high performer. One of my long-term goals is to go into administration, so I've also sought out experiences on committees in my department and in the university-level. It has been a struggle to get placed onto committees of relevance, as in the first few years I was assigned duties typically assigned to a staff person. We had a change in our department head a few years ago. Our new department head is home grown and not very forward thinking in how he runs the department. In fact, he was initially unsupportive in allowing me to be chair of some of the important committees in our department, despite my significant contributions to work by those committees on initiatives. As a woman, I'm frustrated by this feeling of hitting a glass ceiling. Is it like this in all departments and universities? I'm feeling like I want to just throw in the towel and give up on the academic path completely. It's odd...  I feel great support from colleagues at other universities when I attend our national meetings... often getting asked if I've been tapped for leadership roles yet. So it befuddles me that I don't get some of the same support and encouragement at my own university. I've been daydreaming about handing in my resignation and am finding it hard to do any work lately. Are these the doldrums of associate professorhood that so many people have written about?  How do I get out of this feeling of apathy and disappointment?

arcturus