What questions to ask a chair of department candidate?

Started by moebius_strip, February 18, 2021, 07:38:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

moebius_strip

Hello,

I am a new TT assistant professor in an R2 with R1 aspirations. Our department is hiring a new director. They have scheduled for me to talk to all candidates. The issue I have is the following:

Pretty much no one of the old professors in our department does research. However, the University made it clear that this needs to change. I have done good progress - brought in 600k (after overhead), got funding to support 5 Ph.D. students, published a ton in tier 1 venues, established a lab, etc. The issue I have is that the shortlisted candidates that are similar to them - 0 research, very little funding, etc. All are from teaching-oriented R2 Universities. I am very worried that they will be unable to understand the processes that involve research etc. I am only TT assistant professor so I am not that fussed but the last thing I want is for folks that don't understand research to come in and lead a department that supposedly has to pivot towards full research.

The only question that comes to mind is to ask them "how they plan on supporting TT assistant professors with their research" but I am sure that there are other questions that could potentially ask but.. I am not sure. Can you please help me with potential questions that I could ask to gauge their support, suitability, etc.

What questions in your experience are good questions to ask the candidates?

Thank you!

Ruralguy

Ask that question or have a trusted senior colleague ask it. Also, maybe a more general question would be "What do you think is the ideal research/teaching/service balance in a dept. like ours at a university like ours?" Maybe also ask the candidate about how they'd handle certain managerial complexities, such as handling disagreements, etc.

Have you had a departmental meeting on this subject yet? It seems that you should.