I'm used to working too hard. How do I celebrate?

Started by adel9216, April 02, 2021, 03:17:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adel9216

Hello,

I've noticed that I have a hard time celebrating my successes. People around me have noticed too.

I'm very accomplished for a doctoral student. I am a first-generation university graduate, and I have many tenured and adjunct professors who tell me that I am stronger intellectually than some tenured profs. They tell me they're not worried for me, that I will be able to find a job. I don't want to take their words for granted, although I appreciate the trust.

I've recently secured an extremely prestigious scholarship, but for some reason, I'm not celebrating because I'm thinking of how many more steps I have ahead to achieve my goal of completing my PhD. I think I'm used to working too hard and I take life a bit too seriously. I'm very passionate about research and work. I sincerely love what I do. But last year, it tricked me, I had to slow down in order to incorporate self-care in my routine to avoid complete burn out. But celebrating is not part of it yet. I am unsure how to celebrate to be honest. I am unsure if I actually deserve to celebrate myself when I've got so much work left to do.

When I achieve these milestones, it's hard for me extremely joyful because I've worked so hard my entire life to be where I am so I struggle to appreciate the process.

Vkw10

People celebrate success in different ways, some of which may not feel celebratory to most people. My partner celebrates successes by scheduling a visit to walk a labyrinth, a form of mediation he finds deeply refreshing. My mother celebrated by visiting an old family cemetery and tending graves of relatives who had even fewer opportunities than she had. I design and make quilt squares to celebrate achievements, something I enjoy that gives me a tangible reminder of past successes when I stitch my quilts together and for years later.