News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Humanities: LOR for PhD application

Started by Wahoo Redux, November 11, 2021, 10:29:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wahoo Redux

Well, despite all the bad news, and our best efforts, we were unable to talk our super outstanding MA student out of applying to English PhD programs.  This is my first time writing an LoR to a graduate program for a potential student.

Thing is, this person is honestly outstanding.  Under better circumstances, I would wholeheartedly have encouraged this person to pursue the doctorate----and since I was unable to talk hu out of it, I am wholeheartedly trying to help with hu's decision. 

I had hu in a grad class a couple of semesters back and hu is truly stellar.  In the midst of a complete sinkhole of a program, I felt like I had a colleague in the class, not a student.  The class would have been a major headache without this person in the class. Hu's brain is actually a little intimidating.

Hu is only applying to programs that pay hu's way (including my wife's and my alma mater) and only places with low CoL.

It is still a bad idea, I know, but what do those of you who admit grad student look for in a reference letter?

This is an English lit PhD, BTW, but I wanted to leave it open to advice from other disciplines as well-----including STEM, business, or whatever if you have general advice.  Other perspectives in general are appreciated.

Thanks all.
Come, fill the Cup, and in the fire of Spring
Your Winter-garment of Repentance fling:
The Bird of Time has but a little way
To flutter--and the Bird is on the Wing.

Parasaurolophus

I'm not your target, but I think there's good advice here and here (for philosophy).
I know it's a genus.

Ruralguy

Also not target, but....