Service Requirements Increasingly Common for Adjunct Role...

Started by financeguy, April 08, 2022, 08:12:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

downer

I did some course development for one place where I work as an adjunct. I got paid 2 credits worth for it, I think. A FT person would count that as service.

I attended a Zoom dept meeting once too. I didn't get paid for that. I wasn't enthusiastic. There hasn't been another since.

I did attend a workshop on diversity in the classroom at another place when I wasn't even asked to. I was curious. My curiosity was satisfied.

However, it will be a cold day in hell before I attend a committee meeting representing a department at a place I would be adjuncting at. I can't imagine how that would work well for the department -- how would a part time disconnected person be able to represent their department, and what kind of effort would they be making?
"When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag and carrying a cross."—Sinclair Lewis

mahagonny

I did have to take an anti-sexual harassment training thing online. Didn't take too long.. I probably wouldn't mind if someone wanted me to take a brief training exercise for spotting students who are in distress, or where the fire extinguishers are located.  I suppose the 'you're a racist' one is coming. I might feel differently about that one, because I despise that lefty culture. But if it didn't take too long I'd probably just give the right answers and be done with it.
As soon as you have a certified union it's illegal for the college to add things to your workload without initiating negotiations.

QuoteThe problem is when institutions take advantage of adjuncts wanting to go full time by pressuring them to do the work tenured faculty are blowing off, without actually intending to use this as a measure of making the person full time. And, using it as an excuse to not hold tenured faculty to performance standards. Because tenure, you know?