News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Student and Postdoc walkout

Started by Kron3007, May 03, 2023, 03:07:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kron3007

Interesting to see students and postdocs here walking out to push for higher wages.  Would love to see the government actually listen.  I remember pushing for this when I was a grad student here, and the scholarships have almost remained the same as then, about 15 years ago....

https://www.nature.com/articles/d41586-023-01453-8

Kron3007

Also, for the non-Canadian readers, it is also worth noting that tuition wavers are rare here, so most grad students pay about 10k CAD in tuition and fees out of their stipend.  I started a PhD in the US, and while the stipend was not that much better, there was no tuition and the cost of living was much lower.  I was RICH!

marshwiggle

Was the funding mentioned in the article NSERCs and SHERCs? It wasn't mentioned so I couldn't tell.
It takes so little to be above average.

Kron3007

Quote from: marshwiggle on May 03, 2023, 05:05:21 AM
Was the funding mentioned in the article NSERCs and SHERCs? It wasn't mentioned so I couldn't tell.

I am only really familiar with NSERC, but the numbers match up.  I would assume they are the same across all three agencies, but don't know for sure.

MarathonRunner

The tri-agencies. So CIHR, NSERC, and SSHRC.

Not to mention, most Canadian grad students don't win tri-agency scholarships, so they receive even less funding. My Canadian university only guarantees $20,000 Cdn/year for PhD students, and you have to deduct tuition and fees from that.