News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Splitting core appointment

Started by PI, July 07, 2023, 08:03:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PI

I am a full professor (STEM R1). My work is interdisciplinary and I have a core appointment in department A with joint appointments in B and C. All of my main lab space is in department A.

I have a possibility to move to another R1 where the core department would be B and the lab space may be in an institute where there are affiliate faculty from several departments. I am interested in departments A and C there as well to take on students etc. However, I would like a possible core appointment split between B and A. These are departments in two different colleges. Joint appointments would be easy for me to get. I can possibly get to split core appointments as well. There is another faculty who has a similar split.

The question is if this is a good thing to do. First, both Deans might be involved in negotiations and might delay the process. I am okay with the added service and being involved in both units equally. Aside from that what are the negatives for those who have such a split (or core appointment)? I am not sure if I need to even bring this up or simply take a joint appointment and keep it simple (with no financial obligations with A and C). One benefit I see is recognition in both sub-fields as a core faculty in that area and benefits in a variety of grant funding applications rather than being confined to one area. Department A is also a more well-known department in the university (better ranked). I could also design courses that suit students from both departments rather than just one of the departments. I like this possibility.