News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Awkward stories about meeting hero scholars

Started by euro_trash, September 03, 2019, 12:36:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

euro_trash

When I was a PhD student at a *huge* international conference, I was of course nervy, insecure, and hoping to be invisible.

As I had too much coffee, I went to the men's, and so I'm standing at the urinal, and good lord the biggest name in my field, an absolute Goliath, comes and stands at the urinal next to me. Of course I didn't say anything. That would be weird. I was trembling with awe.

Until he splattered all over my shoe and didn't wash his hands. It was at that moment that my hero scholar became a bit smaller. I contemplated this as I wiped off my shoe.

What are your awkward hero scholar stories?
spork in 2014: "It's a woe-is-me echo chamber."

niceday in 2011: "Euro_trash is blinded by his love for Endnote"

I'm kind of a hippy, love nature and my kids, and am still a believer: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=3n4BPPaaoKc

nescafe

As a grad student, I helped organize a regional conference in my field and was stoked to lead the committee responsible for wrangling our keynote speaker. We invited one of my heroes in the discipline, and I was elated. The dept put up funds for the keynote speaker to come to dinner with us grad students after the conference. I told myself "lean in" and sat next to him, even though I was terrified.

During dinner, he told me that my dissertation topic was "bullshit."

Never meet your heroes.

Bede the Vulnerable

At the big conference in our subfield, I was seated at the dinner table right across from The Big Name.  Not terribly awkward, so much as disappointing:  He spoke about himself for over two hours.  I thought he'd be fascinating.  He wasn't even mildly interesting.

I no longer have heroes among scholars.
Of making many books there is no end;
And much study is a weariness of the flesh.

Chemystery