Question about how university staff should address professors?

Started by the-tenure-track-prof, November 03, 2019, 02:50:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

the-tenure-track-prof

I am a new tenure track assistant professor. I`ve noticed that at my new university, staff addresses professors (all are Ph.Ds) on a first-name basis and I`ve heard professors complaining about this issue.
I`ve noticed also that even if a professor requests to be addressed with the title, some staff will refuse to comply which seems to be disrespectful.
I am still learning the environment and I was wondering if anyone has/had similar experiences?.

onthefringe

Staff can smooth your way to tenure or make it rough. They are human beings and your colleagues, even if they don't have PhDs. Be respectful to them, and don't expect them to call you something different than your faculty colleagues do.

Puget

Are you in the US? It would be weird and seem rather classist/hierarchical in most US colleges and universities (at least the ones I've experienced) for anyone other than an undergrad to call faculty by their titles. As onthefringe says, these are your colleagues, and colleagues use first names. In my experience only very insecure people insist on titles.
"Never get separated from your lunch. Never get separated from your friends. Never climb up anything you can't climb down."
–Best Colorado Peak Hikes

downer

Quote from: the-tenure-track-prof on November 03, 2019, 02:50:58 PM

I`ve noticed also that even if a professor requests to be addressed with the title, some staff will refuse to comply which seems to be disrespectful.

I'm curious whether you are reporting your own experience and are talking about yourself in the third person.

It might also make a difference what the local culture is. Big university vs small college, east coast, west coast, midwest, north or south, etc? What do most other people perfer in your environment?