News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Teaching assistants

Started by doc700, March 02, 2020, 10:30:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

doc700

I am a 4th year professor and am teaching an intro STEM course for freshman majors.  I have two teaching assistants who are assigned to support the course.  The TAs teach sections to support the lecture and grade.  I have taught this course twice in the past and things have been very smooth with the TAs.  This year I am having a serious issue with one of them.

The TAs are given (by me) problems to work out during section.  These problems were written for a prior iteration of the course but are in general excellent problems that integrate the concepts from class with advanced problem solving skills.  The problems are also well aligned with the homework and exam problems.  In the past the TAs have had no issue working out the problems in section and the students have enjoyed seeing homework like problems.  The students have given high reviews to their section leaders and section overall in the end of course evaluations.

This semester my TA refuses to help show the students how to do the problems.  She gives them the problem in a group and then tells them they are lazy if they can't figure out how to solve it.  These problems are non-trivial and I've tried explaining that while the students should be given time to work, the purpose of section is for her to model problem solving strategies.  Coming from lecture, they still need support putting everything together to solve these problems (but should be getting modeling so they can work on the homework of similar difficulty).  I've trying highlighting key steps and points with the TA but shes defiant in her approach.