News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Low Band-Width Options

Started by wareagle, October 27, 2020, 08:52:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

wareagle

I'm sure we all have students with sketchy Internet access.  I'm wondering what ideas we have to put class materials out there that could still be accessed via some dinosaur-like dial-up connections or weak wi-fi.

I am no tech expert.  But how about stuff like voice-over PPTs instead of having to stream video? 

Audio-only options? 

Other thoughts?
[A]n effective administrative philosophy would be to remember that faculty members are goats.  Occasionally, this will mean helping them off of the outhouse roof or watching them eat the drapes.   -mended drum

Parasaurolophus

Yeah, voice-over-powerpoint, and try to keep the files small--like, tenish slides. Although if you can also just post the PDF of the slides, that might help, since VOPP files can still get relatively large.
I know it's a genus.

downer

It's an interesting question. On the one hand, I think having band-width is like being able to get the textbook. Students should budget for that, and I'm not particularly sympathetic to their claims that they can't afford it.

Pre-COVID, it was also pretty easy to find places where you can find free wi-fi. (This is something I do myself because I use a pre-paid phone plan and minimize my use of data as much as possible.) Now it is not quite so easy, because it is harder to hang out in those public or commercial.

I try to avoid any big files because I do nearly all my teaching prep and teaching on a cheap Chromebook. I have a colleague who uploads huge Powerpoint files with video up to Blackboard, and I encounter all sorts of problems in trying to view them.

I make slides with audio for some classes, and 10 minute videos that I upload to YouTube. So far I've had no problems with students saying they had trouble with the files.