News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Recommenders for Packard Fellowship

Started by doc700, February 15, 2020, 09:14:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

doc700

Hello all.  I am new to this forum and had a question I was hoping to get feedback on.

I am a third year assistant professor in physics/materials science.  I received a nomination from my university to the Packard Fellowship competition.  I was wondering how to select the recommendation letters.  It says one should come from a person with no supervisory or collaborative contact.  Does that imply the other two should come from a supervisor or collaborator?  I understand a strong letter from someone at arms distance would be more supportive to my application, however I would know that person less well so they likely couldn't write as detailed of a letter.  I do have a few names of people who could write who know my work well and aren't collaborators, however they are in Europe and while established, might not be "famous"/very well known to the broad Packard review board.

I did reach out to my sponsored projects office for support but my university hasn't had someone win the Packard in several years.  I was hoping that someone hear might have some experience or recommendations.  I really appreciate the support!

fizzycist

Here are my opinions as someone who has applied for numerous young investigator things of the Packard sort with some success, but have only sat on one panel to review them (not Packard).

The outside letter writer doesn't need to know you personally well,  they just need to think highly of your work. They are not being asked to comment on details of your research strategy or your personal qualities, rather they are supposed to reflect on how the field overall views your work and the general topic you are pursuing.