Are my expectations as first time editor unrealistic?

Started by profjackster, March 15, 2021, 09:56:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

profjackster

Hello All,

I do not post much on here, but do have a rather pertinent question at this time.

An edited volume is out for review with a good university press. I had the privilege of gathering a variety of writers who contributed their respective chapters on changes in public policies toward the pandemic over time. However, as this is my first time serving as an editor on a volume with fourteen chapters (and even more authors/co-authors), I have some questions and would be grateful for whatever comments or tips will come this way (am a full professor in the social sciences and have published before--articles, monographs, chapters--but never served as a sole editor for a volume).

As for the reviewers: are there going to be a different group of reviewers for each of the fourteen chapters, or will a conventional small coterie of reviewers respond to the entire work?