News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

PhD Qualifying Exam Issues

Started by sambaprof, September 20, 2022, 06:16:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sambaprof

Our Department offers PhD degrees in different tracks in PhD ranging from Computer Science to Computer Engineering to Electrical Engineering.
The department conducts PhD qualifying exams at the beginning of the semester and the results are given 2 weeks after the exam. The results for the Fall 2022 qualifying exam was given last week.

I am relatively new to the University and this is the first time the PhD students that I am advising/supervising are taking the qualifying exam.

Also I  have no say on the exam design or delivery.  'Computer Science' area PhD qualifying exam is handled by the chair of 'graduate program committee for Computer Science' and the 'Computer Engineering/Electrical Engineering' area PhD qualifying exam is handled by the 'chair of graduate program committee for Computer Engineering/Electrical Engineering'.

I am in Computer Science area and couple of my PhD students got failing grades in the Qualifying exam subjects. One student failed in all three subjects and another student failed in two out of three subjects.

It appears that a total of 8 students (including 2 students I am advising/supervising)  appeared for qualifying exam in Computer Science area this Fall 2022 and none of the students passed in all three subject. Whereas all three students who appeared in Electrical/Computer Engineering this Fall 2022 has passed.

These qualifying exams are supposed to be testing the student's knowledge and skills at the undergraduate level for any given subject.
The student's mention that they prepared hard and yet failed compared to the students in Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering  area.

Following are the list of issues as mentioned by the students.