News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Literary agent?

Started by Veggie3, January 02, 2023, 07:36:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Veggie3

Dear forumites,

I'm a tenured associate professor at a large R-1 university. I'm in the process of completing my second book manuscript (fingers crossed to complete everything by March/April), and would love to hear people's experience with a literary agent. There is a thread about it from 2019, but it did not relate to some of my concerns.

My first book was published by a good university press (though not Oxbridge or any of the Ivies), but they contacted me first, so I have no experience in courting various publishers. I think that my book has a certain commercial potential, and it might ruffle some feathers in my small subfield of island basket weaving. Hopefully it will be well received by the larger field (say, mainland basket weavers).

Is it ok to send a pitch simultaneously to several publishers AND to few agents?
Will an agent (or a contract with a commercial publisher) help to publicize the book better?
I'd like to have the book come out initially as paperback at a reasonable price (read less than $40). Is that something an agent would assist with?

I managed to get a couple of prestigious international fellowships to write this book, and I'd like it to be a springboard to move perhaps to another place or at least negotiate better terms at my current university. Thus, I'm trying not to "blow it" at this stage.

Thank you in advance and happy 2023,

V.

Jack of no trades.

Parasaurolophus

I don't have an you experience to share, but you might find this blog post helpful.
I know it's a genus.

bacardiandlime

Agents are obviously focused on getting books into mainstream presses. Definitely send your pitch to a few if you think it has that kind of potential.

Most commercial publishers won't look at pitches that are NOT via agents.