News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Responding to Letter to Editor: Pros vs. Cons?

Started by coolswimmer800, March 28, 2023, 11:55:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coolswimmer800

I published a paper in a well-known journal in my field, and one of my findings generated lots of debate because the results are counter-intuitive.

The journal sent me a Letter to Editor (LTE) they received, and the letter is very critical of my controversial finding.

The journal is asking me if I want to respond to the LTE before they decide on whether they will publish both the external LTE and my response.

This is my first time I have ever dealt with this and I am not sure how to proceed as a junior faculty on the tenure-track.

Can someone help me identify the pros and cons of responding to the LTE in this situation?

I can see the pros that it increases attention and citation count (immediately by 2) for the article, and maybe my response LTE counts as a "publication" in a well-known journal?

The cons I see are that I don't really have an adequate explanation for my controversial result, but my result was also found in another paper published at the same time in another country (they give no explanation for their finding).

Help please, TIA!

Ruralguy

I can't speak to the precise pros and cons, though if it were me, I'd probably reply to it succinctly and politely.
However, if you feel that you can't address their concerns in a timely manner, then don't. But negative remarks
concerning a paper have a way of sticking if they aren't addressed early.

Parasaurolophus

Quote from: coolswimmer800 on March 28, 2023, 11:55:56 AM

The cons I see are that I don't really have an adequate explanation for my controversial result, but my result was also found in another paper published at the same time in another country (they give no explanation for their finding).