Addressing Divided Reviews While Staying Positive and Focused

Started by Dr_Badger, December 19, 2019, 02:34:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dr_Badger

In early Fall, I submitted an article on a controversial topic to a prestigious, top-tier journal in my field. The reviews came back today. Reviewer 1 offered strong praise for the article and Reviewer 2 recommended rejection. Both reviewers offered formative feedback for revision, and the editor delivered a Revise & Resubmit decision.

In short, I am going to be doing a lot of revising in the coming months. I understand the editor's decision and the path forward, but this is my first time taking a leap of faith and doing major revisions for a divided review. I'm hoping someone will pop in and tell me about a time when their article was ultimately published after one reviewer recommended rejection. That way, I can come back and look at your anecdote(s) when I'm feeling overwhelmed. 

More context: I am a tenured person, so my job is not at stake. I am invested in publishing this piece in this particular journal. I am also prone to doubting my own intrinsic capabilities when I should instead be adopting a growth mindset. Also, the co-author is my spouse. 

fleabite

I was in just this situation early this year. The revisions meant that the article would double in length, and it had already been a major project. In fact, I could have turned it into a book with a couple more months' work. I have a little regret that I didn't. I was swayed by feeling that I owed something to the reviewers and editor of the journal, as they had put in the time to give the feedback, so I was reluctant to pull it and make a book of it instead. In any event, I did make the revisions, the article was accepted, and it will appear in the spring.