News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Very assertive journal editor - is this normal?

Started by DogBarman, May 12, 2020, 10:21:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DogBarman

I submitted a piece to a journal last year which was blind-reviewed by peers, then returned to me. The reviewers suggested substantial changes, but I understood their suggestions and found them quite helpful, so I was easily able to submit a revised version. This was six months ago.

The journal editor has now returned to me with his/her own 'edits' - however these are quite extreme, perhaps even more so than the original peer feedback. What particularly bothers me are his/her comments about how my overall argument doesn't work, with no suggestion of how I should change it. This article is an adaptation of a chapter from my PhD, and none of my committee brought up these problems. I have been given two weeks to essentially re-rewrite the article.

As a recent PhD graduate, I admit I am new to the peer review process. Is this all normal practice?

traductio

That would be unusual in my field (communication). I've had editors-in-chief make unwelcome changes, which is frustrating enough (I'll never submit there again), but what you describe goes well beyond anything I've seen.

Are the editor's comments at all useful? Except for the sunk time costs, I'd consider pulling it and submitting it elsewhere, if they're not.

DogBarman

About half of the edits are useful on a straight-forward level - e.g., use a different word here; there is some slippage in how you use this term, please clarify; you should cite XXXXX here; etc.