News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Working with a consulting agency

Started by Kron3007, June 15, 2022, 02:23:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kron3007

Hello Everyone,

I am fortunate to work in a field with a lot of industry relevance/interest.  Over the years, I have had many companies approach me about consulting for them.  Despite this, I have only had one consulting contract go through.  It was a good gig, but has run its course and I would like to earn some extra cash.  Reflecting on my track record, I have come to the conclusion that my issue is I am not good at closing the deal.  To address this, I reached out to a consulting agency that works in my general field, but seems to lack expertise in my specific area. 

They bit, and I am now working out details to consult for them.  Hopefully I am better at closing this deal than my track record suggests, but I think the chances are good as it would be mutually beneficial and we have verbally agreed to it.  I suppose I am posting this to see if others have worked in this type of situation (as a side gig) and what the typical arrangement is.  I assume they will take a proportion of the hourly fee.  Any other tips, suggestions, etc? 

mamselle

Your school's on board with this, yes?

(And with the previous one?)

M.
Forsake the foolish, and live; and go in the way of understanding.

Reprove not a scorner, lest they hate thee: rebuke the wise, and they will love thee.

Give instruction to the wise, and they will be yet wiser: teach the just, and they will increase in learning.

Kron3007

Quote from: mamselle on June 15, 2022, 06:00:31 PM
Your school's on board with this, yes?

(And with the previous one?)

M.

Yes, our contract is very clear that we can do this, within limits etc.

mamselle

So, my experiences are related to booking consultants for labs and pharma departments; my sense of how those connections are built have been, by observation: