News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Using Canvas for online course

Started by doc700, August 12, 2020, 12:20:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

doc700

I am looking for some more information about how I should be using Canvas.

For some context, I have been teaching for a few years now, face to face.  Last spring, we moved online along with the rest of the country but at that point I was trying to hang on/learn how to use Zoom.

My university is fully online instruction this year so I am starting the course from scratch online.  I am trying to think about how I should set up my Canvas site.  I have been using Canvas for my face-to-face teaching but it was sort of an afterthought; all critical information was communicated during class, students turned in paper assignments in class etc.  I would upload notes, homework solutions etc to the "Files" section, put my syllabus online and pretty much leave it at that.

I am now trying to make my Canvas page for my online class.  It seems this will be the front door to the class as they will go to Canvas to get the Zoom links for the lectures, turn in their homeworks and interface with the course.  I've never used features like "Modules" before.  I can read the help pages for the technical details but was hoping for some help conceptualizing how my Canvas site should function effectively.

Thanks!

namazu

What is your broad disciplinary area, if you don't mind sharing?

How is the course generally organized (i.e.,around readings, thematic units, historical overview of the field, projects, papers, problem sets, other)?  Often these chunks, whatever they are, will translate into modules, and you can group the relevant readings, activities, and assessments together.