News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Research group internal wiki/site

Started by born_a_prof, July 16, 2020, 10:45:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

born_a_prof

I am looking for opinions on what tools/wikis do people use to track research group activities. I am talking a private webpage/site which has to do lists, meeting summaries/agendas, files, tutorials etc. written by PI and group members.

I have some experience using atlassian/confluence, however it seems to be way to slow over the cloud.
Are there any favorites ?

darkstarrynight

One of my colleagues did a tutorial of Trello with us that seemed like it might be good for that. You can also use Microsoft Teams for collaborative activities. I like to work with colleagues in google drive, but it is left "trackable" perhaps.

eigen

My current preference is Notion. It takes a bit to set up, but there are some great guides and it's free for academic users.

I do have colleagues running much larger groups who use the paid version as well.

My main setup, however, is a shared cloud site. It used to be Dropbox and is now a Google Drive. That coupled with Slack covers the file repository, shared documents + calendar, and communication.

It does take more for me to get a new student set up than Notion promises to once I've gotten it fully set up, however.
Quote from: Caracal
Actually reading posts before responding to them seems to be a problem for a number of people on here...

polly_mer

Quote from: born_a_prof on July 16, 2020, 10:45:03 AM
I have some experience using atlassian/confluence, however it seems to be way to slow over the cloud.

I saw the title and came here to recommend Atlassian Confluence and Jira (BitBucket if you have a code base).  I haven't seen anything as good.  However, my employer hosts and we have an IT team who supports our site.
Quote from: hmaria1609 on June 27, 2019, 07:07:43 PM
Do whatever you want--I'm just the background dancer in your show!

doc700