News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

technicalities of digital humanities project?

Started by rabbitandfox23, August 04, 2020, 07:13:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rabbitandfox23

Hello there!

I'm a newbie when it comes to digital humanities, but I'm growing increasingly interested in its potentials for my field.

My hope is to create a simple public access database online where people can discover bibliographic details for a given text (I work in ancient and medieval literatures); users would be able to search by author, genre, time period, etc. The idea is that we would have all the relevant authorial and 'publication'/performance history of any given text from a wide temporal span. It would also point to contradicting bibliographic data (for example, there is debate about when Plato wrote each dialogue -- a search for Symposium would not only show the various dates proposed by various ancient authors, but also the different titles attributed to that work).

I've been exploring and have discovered ARTFL, which looks like something that could work:https://artfl-project.uchicago.edu/

My question to you more experienced folk is: how feasible is such a project, and how much would it actually cost?-- for a domain, for a computer programmer to design the site, etc.? 

indeed, is there any literature on how to develop such a project, with suggestions on how to tackle the technicalities and finances?

Many thanks in advance for your thoughts!

polly_mer

The hard part of what you've proposed is the data entry and to what extent what you want already exists in some useful electronic form with all the metadata in place.

Programming access to an existing database is easy enough that undergrads can do it.
Putting a nice interface on a website for users is also easy enough for undergrads to do.

Constructing the database from scratch is the part that requires real resources and expertise.
Quote from: hmaria1609 on June 27, 2019, 07:07:43 PM