invitation - co-guest editor for special issue journal

Started by adel9216, November 19, 2021, 01:06:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adel9216

Hello,

I was just invited to be a guest co-editor for a special issue of a journal on the themes of my academic research.
But I've never done this before and I was a little surprised they thought of me.
it does interest me, but what should I be aware of before accepting? What does it entail exactly?

Thank you,

research_prof

Prestige and impact factor of the journal. Make sure it is not one of the scam "science" journals where people pay and get their papers published in a week.

adel9216

Quote from: research_prof on November 19, 2021, 01:16:15 PM
Prestige and impact factor of the journal. Make sure it is not one of the scam "science" journals where people pay and get their papers published in a week.

No, it's not a scam journal. It's a journal that I know of and is well-known where I'm from and in my field. I also noticed the names of a couple of professors and people I know who have written for or been involved with this journal.

traductio

First question -- is the journal legit? If it's not one you're immediately familiar with, it might not be worth your time at this point (you're a grad student if I remember right -- please correct me if I'm mistaken). There are a lot of sketchy journals that send out invitations to guest edit an issue that I ignore completely. It's a lot of work, and if the journal is junk, it's a lot of wasted work.