News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Time Management Tips

Started by adel9216, December 01, 2019, 07:31:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adel9216

Hello everyone,

I am a first year PhD student as some of you already know, and I struggle with structuring my time (cause most of my time is unstructured, and I don't have a boss that's waiting for me at 9am.).

I am using Focusmate a few times a week which helps me to structure my time a bit more, but I'm still not as productive as I know I can be. I also had a difficult semester on a personal level, so that interfered a little bit with my usual productivity. I'm known for being able to motivate myself without having someone tell me I need to do things, but for some reason, this semester is a bit different. I plan my week, but am struggling to stick to the plan. I gave up my paper agenda for a digital one for the first time of my life, because I realized that the paper one is just not effective for me anymore at this stage of my life. On top of this, I am also living on my own for the first time.

I still manage to get most of what I have to do done on time. But still, I am getting more and more requests to contribute to projects related to my doctoral work or speak about my research topic, and I need to fit that effectively into my schedule. I am not turning down any of those requests because it puts me "out there" as an expert on my topic. if it's related to my doctoral work, I say yes. Otherwise, I say no.

I know it's a skill that I need to develop because I want to be an academic. Most of the people here are academics, how do you organize your days/weeks? Any tips would be appreciated. Are they any specific apps that you use? I really need to develop a system asap. I still have time to test a few things out though.

Thank you,

pigou