Presenting same content twice at research conferences

Started by adel9216, January 17, 2020, 11:50:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adel9216

Hello, me again.

Newbie question: is it common to present the same content at different research conferences? I'm really confused about what is accepted and what is not when it comes to this. I have seen researchers present similar content in different conferences though.

I am asking because I am presenting tomorrow a conference in the UK in English. I am wondering if I could present the same content at a local conference in my hometown in French, but I don't know if that's okay.

adel9216

Also, I wanted to say that I'm truly appreciative for this forum. I am a first-gen university graduate, and there are a lot of non-written rules in academia and in grad school. I'm truly grateful that I can come here and ask senior researchers and faculty members about details like this. So thank you, again.

Ruralguy

People do it, but I'd recommend changing it some meaningful way.

Puget

If the audiences are different (which it sounds like they will be) I think it is completely fine. A talk is not like a paper-- it is transmission of information only to the audience in front of you (unless you post the slides), so it is not duplication unless the audience overlaps. 
"Never get separated from your lunch. Never get separated from your friends. Never climb up anything you can't climb down."
–Best Colorado Peak Hikes

Parasaurolophus

It's absolutely fine. What you shouldn't do is present the same paper at the same conference.
I know it's a genus.

mamselle

I've been chewing on some similar topics within a cluster of 2-3 semi-related research efforts for a bit now.

If I'm invited to speak at a seminar or public interest event, I use something I've already done (if I don't have anything fresh I want to try out on them). But otherwise I want to maximize the exposure of as many facets of my work as I can.