News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

wifi hotspots?

Started by kaysixteen, September 16, 2020, 08:03:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kaysixteen

A computer question for the savants amongst us:

When I got this machine, I was able to access a free one hour Xfinity wifi pass, and that allowed me to sign up for wifi passes monthly.   I also have cable from Comcast, so I decided today to head down to the local Comcast office and see if I could bundle the two, perhaps save myself some money.   The young woman ended up offering me a plan that would have saved me maybe $20 a month.... but then the deal fell apart when she asked me whether I needed the modem with it, which would of course be extra.   Initially I said no, assuming that I must have one built into the laptop, else how would I have been using the net for the last four months here?   But talking with her, she tells me, and I think I believe her, that I do not have linked internet access (which is obviously true, no cable connects my computer to anything), so therefore I must be simply getting wifi access because my apt. must be part of some 'wifi hotspot'.   So I told her to forget the whole thing, because there was no cable/ wifi pass bundle option available.   As long as the wifi still works, which it clearly does, I guess I will just keep it as is, because I surely do need it.   Is she right, about this hotspot thing?   Obviously I am not paying for any hotspot access from anyone, only for the wifi monthly charge from Comcast/ Infinity, and I do not want to pay for cabled modem-ed internet access, unless I have to.   I have had no problems accessing any websites whatsoever, since I have been using the wifi service (May).

And one more question: