News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

A Contemplation about leaving a tenure track position

Started by the-tenure-track-prof, August 29, 2020, 06:39:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

the-tenure-track-prof

I am a second year assistant professor and I`ve been unhappy in my job for a while now. The main reason is that I have a strong passion for research, whereas the university I work at is a teaching institution. On top of that, there is no support for research, and barely any professor does research at all. In my own program, there are 8 professors, 4 of them are non Ph.D. non-tenure instructors, while none of the other 3 does any research whatsoever. A lot of professors come and leave before they go to tenure and few years ago the university was considering closing the program because number of professors left at once. When I came on board last year, there was one new professor ahead of me who didn't do anything other than teaching, and this one activity she was doing while making it sound as if she is doing a big favor to the school that she shows up in her classroom at all.
The criteria for promotion include teaching, research, and service for ALL Assistant Professors (AP), but because the program doesn't have tenure professors (except one who didn't leave but he is really bad even after 8 years at the school), she is likely to get tenured without any research work not even a local conference presentation- which does not carry the same weight like a publication. Last year I was the only faculty with conference papers, publications and service on a national committee. This year I am doing the same.