News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

k16....where are you?

Started by nebo113, January 03, 2021, 06:53:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nebo113

I don't think we've heard from k16 lately.  Is anyone in contact?  The last I recall is that s/he was concerned about an elderly relative.

Parasaurolophus

Last active on January 2, last posts on December 30.
I know it's a genus.

kaysixteen

Thanks for asking.  Two weeks ago I did finally lose access to the wifi Hotspot I had been using since the spring.   Since then I have had to use my smartphone for net access,  and writing forum posts is much more challenging  therewith.   I haven'tyet gotten round to going to local Comcast office to buy a regular net access plan, collect a modem,  and then bring it home to try to set it up, something I have never done before.   Comcast has sent me, as it happens,  a pair of excellent sounding junk mail offers for various cable/net/phone bundle deals,  which should save me money vs buying cable and access to defunct Hotspot separately,  so I will head there on day off Monday and take the plunge.  I am relying on information I got from a church buddy who is a comp sci grad student,  puts our weekly services on YouTube, etc, .as to what to say to service rep and then what to do when I get home, but my previous interactions with Comcast reps, and my strong lack of tech savvy,  have combined to fill me with some real  trepidation.   But I need access to net enabled computer to actively prosecute my work search,  which for private schools and adjunct work alike is about to kick into high gear right now,  so I will just have to suck it up and get it done.  Of course, I can also take church guy up on his offer to come to my apartment and set it up for me, though I really want to at least attempt to get it right myself.

nebo113

kaysixteen

apl68

Good luck on getting the connectivity issues worked out.