News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Latest Embarrassing CHE Op-Ed: Make All Courses Pass/Fail

Started by spork, March 23, 2020, 08:17:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

spork

https://www.chronicle.com/article/Make-All-Courses-Pass-Fail-Now/248281.

Indicator of (ir)relevance: the column starts with "I'm a visiting professor of government at Harvard, on sabbatical from my regular teaching job at Middlebury College."
It's terrible writing, used to obfuscate the fact that the authors actually have nothing to say.

sockknitter

I saw that article soon after learning that students at my university have started a petition to request pass/fail grading for this semester. I don't think our students realize how many professors issue a D- to those who have actually earned an F, even though the evidence is in the CMS.

polly_mer

I like the header: Students aren't having a real college experience. We shouldn't pretend that they are.

How does that translate to pass/fail instead of canceling everything for those who only participated in half a term of instruction?

I am bemused by the saga of the good student being asked to cheat.  Is saying no not an option?  Is this really the first time a good student has been approached to cheat?  If so, then someone was due a rude awakening.