News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Grading Standards

Started by Charlotte, September 08, 2020, 05:25:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charlotte

I've posted before asking for advice since I'm a new teacher at a community college. I'm curious how you al deal with situations like this:

I assigned a short written "journal entry" with four questions about a short article they were to read. I asked for 300-400 word responses. Essentially, the article said that X is commonly assumed to result in Y but in actuality there are many other factors involved, for example in author's personal life Z occurred and had an influence.

Three students did the assignment as asked, but missed the point of what the article was telling them. They insisted X results in Y.

Many other students skipped some of the questions required by the assignment and stated X will get you to Y.

Others stated Z is the factor that gets you to Y.

Some wrote 50 words total and I couldn't quite understand what they were talking about.

Some wrote disjointed, reworded sentences from the article and didn't answer the questions.

One of the questions the assignment asked is what other factors (not mentioned in the article) in your own personal life have led to Y. Every student stated X and/or Z. Nobody added factors that were not in the article.

I suspect they all did it last minute so I wasn't expecting really insightful analysis or anything, but I did think the article and the instructions were clear enough to help them see that X doesn't always lead to Y because other factors can have an influence as well. I also thought the instructions were clear that they needed to come up with factors that were NOT mentioned in the article.

Help a new teacher out! Since the whole class did poorly, I'm thinking my instructions were not clear or they did not read the article carefully.