News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

What do students mean by "going over the readings"?

Started by JFlanders, September 17, 2020, 10:04:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JFlanders

Sometimes I teach older texts-- not obscure medieval fragments, but stuff mostly out of the standard 18th- and 19th-century pop-lit canon  of "classics".  I am always careful to select these for maximal high-interest sex, violence and drama.

A constant refrain of students assigned these readings is (a) that the language is impossibly, unreasonably old-fashioned and difficult; and (b) that therefore, as a good teacher, I should not expect them to know anything about the content of assigned texts until I have first "gone over the reading."   

When asked, students never provide specific questions or any concrete account of what "going over the reading" might entail, but the persistence and earnestness with which they make this request suggests that "going over it" is a thing some teachers actually do accomplish to their satisfaction.  I do, of course, point out major themes, features, and contexts in class discussion, which is what "going over it" meant back in my undergrad days.   However, students seem to feel that "going over it" should also be what enables them to know the literal content of the text (as in, "It was pretty unfair to quiz us on [that basic plot point] before we had really gone over the reading in class"). 

My question: what do they mean by "going over the reading" in this context? Surely not standing up and giving a line-by-line paraphrase?   Retelling the whole story in my own words?  Printing out the Sparknotes summary section and reading it aloud?   I feel as though these things would clearly bore the students and would still not result in their understanding the actual words on the page, but what else could they mean?