News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

If a student in your class has a PhD

Started by Charlotte, January 10, 2021, 06:58:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Charlotte

If a student in one of your classes had a PhD would you expect them to notify you?

I'm taking some graduate classes in a field related to my own. Mr. Charlotte asked me if I notified the professor that I have a PhD. I wasn't going to mention it unless it was directly related to a conversation. On the one hand, I feel that might sound a bit as if I am asking to be treated differently. But Mr. Charlotte feels the professor would prefer to know.

So would you want the student to let you know or would you not care either way?

Does this answer change depending on if it is an online class or an on campus class?

If you would prefer to be notified, at what degree would you not want to be notified? Masters? Bachelors? Associates?

namazu

Quote from: Charlotte on January 10, 2021, 06:58:23 AM
If a student in one of your classes had a PhD would you expect them to notify you?
No.  Unless the class were limited to a particular category of students (e.g. 1st-year masters students -- in which case, you probably aren't meant to be there in the first place), your degree status should be irrelevant. You're there to learn like everyone else. 

Your approach of bringing it up if and only if it's germane to the class (e.g. if your dissertation topic directly relates to a discussion, and you have relevant insights to share) is a reasonable one.

research_prof

Quote from: Charlotte on January 10, 2021, 06:58:23 AM

I'm taking some graduate classes in a field related to my own. Mr. Charlotte asked me if I notified the professor that I have a PhD. I wasn't going to mention it unless it was directly related to a conversation. On the one hand, I feel that might sound a bit as if I am asking to be treated differently. But Mr. Charlotte feels the professor would prefer to know.