News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

We made a big mistake

Started by Hegemony, April 28, 2021, 05:12:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hegemony

I'm a member of the graduate admissions committee for my department.  We normally have enough funding for every student we admit. This year our funding was cut back, although we were allowed to admit as many students as usual. (And we need a certain minimum to run seminars; the university doesn't let us offer seminars that are too tiny.)

So we sent out our acceptances. We admitted a good number; all the admits are excellent and we would be happy to have any of them.

Then came the usual period where some applicants turn us down and we pass the funding down to the others.  So we finally got the final list of students who accepted us, and distributed our lessened amount of funding we had as best we could so that everybody got some. Two students are fully funded and the rest are 75% funded.

Then our secretary says, "You haven't yet sent out the welcome letter to [let us say] Johnson."

"We admitted Johnson but she has declined to come," I say.

"No, she accepted," says the secretary.

"No, she declined," I say, and produce the email in which she declines our offer.

"No, not Emily Johnson," says the secretary. "Emily Johnson is the one who declined. Philomena Johnson is the one who's coming."

"What?!" I say. I consult the other members of the committee. They all go through the same conversation. "No, she declined." "No she didn't."